A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | OTHER
Swords Bros, Photographers advertising card, undated
Creator: Swords Bros.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2013.222
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   The Swords Bros was a photography studio, gallery and frame makers in York, Pennsylvania in the late-nineteenth century. This item is an advertising card for Sword Bros Photographers on 25 West Market Street for their frame department.
Steel Industry Wage Bureau records, 1931-2002, bulk 1945-2000
Creator: Steel Industry Wage Bureau.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2273
Extent:   21 linear feet
Abstract:   The records of the Steel Industry Wage Bureau document the process of establishing wage rates and job descriptions in the U.S. steel industry.
Strawbridge & Clothier records, 1793-1996
Creator: Strawbridge & Clothier.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2117
Extent:   47 linear feet
Abstract:   Strawbridge & Clothier was a major department store chain in the Greater Philadelphia area focused on a middle-class clientele. It was founded as a partnership by Justus C. Strawbridge and Isaac H. Clothier in 1868 and was family-owned until its sale to the May Department Store Company of St. Louis in 1996. The records are a mix of corporate and legal documents and materials that provide a good overall picture of the evolution of retailing in the Philadelphia area, particularly in the 20th century.
Strawbridge and Clothier photographs and audiovisual materials, 1878-1990
Creator: Strawbridge & Clothier.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1995.250
Extent:   15 linear feet
Abstract:   Strawbridge & Clothier was the last family-owned major department store chain in the Greater Philadelphia area. The store was founded as a partnership by Justus C. Strawbridge (1838-1911) and Isaac H. Clothier (1837-1921) on July 1, 1868 at 8th and Market Streets in Center City Philadelphia. This collection contains photographs, negatives, transparencies, lantern slides, glass negatives, slides, audio tapes, videotapes, and films from Strawbridge & Clothier. It is valuable to those researching all aspects of retail: history, architecture, department stores, shopping malls, employment, operations, promotion, advertising, fashion, and merchandising. Other topics include family-owned businesses, distinguished Quaker families, business response on the homefront during World War II, the Gallery and Market East, and Philadelphia and its environs. There are also proposal albums from the Pavlik Design Team of store design for the Cherry Hill, King of Prussia, and Willow Grove stores and from Neil/Carter Design Associates for Heritage Hall in the Market Street store.
Stonega, Virginia coal camp photograph, circa 1900
Creator: Stonega Coke and Coal Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1994.251
Extent:   1.0 photographic prints
Abstract:   This photograph is of a coal camp in Stonega, Virginia built and operated by the Stonega Coke and Coal Company. The Stonega Coke & Coal Company was a typical large southern Appalachian bituminous coal producer with mines in Virginia and West Virginia. Coal operations and their associated towns, or coal camps, consisted of company-built houses, churches, schools, theatres, dance halls, and even graveyards. The company provided each camp with a doctor, nurse, and hospital.
Saxon Motor Car Company album, circa 1915
Creator: Saxon Motor Car Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1973.294
Extent:   1 volume
Abstract:   The Saxon Motor Car Company was located in Detroit, Michigan and had offices in Troy, New York. It began producing automobiles in the winter of 1913-1914, when the company introduced a two-seater roadster. The album contains photographs of the Saxon Motor Car Company's offices in Troy, New York and Detroit, Michigan.
Schuykill Navigation Company subscription list for loans, 1823-1824
Creator: Schuylkill Navigation Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1215
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   The Schuylkill Navigation Company constructed a canal along the Schuylkill River from Philadelphia to the anthracite coal field near Pottsville between 1815 and 1825. The item is a small notebook with subscriptions to the company's loans in 1823 and 1824.
Singer Manufacturing Company records, 1860-1878
Creator: Singer Manufacturing Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2526
Extent:   0.5 linear feet
Abstract:   This collection helps to document the history of Singer Manufacturing Company during the period 1860 through 1880. After success in forming one of the first U.S. patent pools the Singer Company was ready to capitalize and built several new factories. Since the demand for family sewing machines had increased substantially, Singer made it economically possible to buy the new and improved machines by offering installment payment plans.
St. Clair Coal Company photographs, 1920-1951
Creator: St. Clair Coal Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1989.237
Extent:   17 images
Abstract:   The St. Clair Coal Company was a medium-sized independent anthracite producer located near Saint Clair, Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania. Photographs from St. Clair Coal Company show miners at work, collieries, storage banks, an aerial view of the operation, strip mining, a yard locomotive (probably built by Vulcan Locomotive), and the office.
Singer Building souvenir, circa 1908
Creator: Singer Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1994.280
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   The Singer Company was once the world's leading producer of sewing machines that achieved peak domestic and foreign influence by the late nineteenth century. In 1902 the Singer Company began plans to enlarge its headquarters in downtown Manhattan. Ernest Flagg was selected as the architect, and his initial design was for a thirty-five story tower; however, the company decided to almost double its height. The Beaux-Arts style skyscraper, made of red brick and bluestone, was completed in 1908 and stretched to 612 feet. This two sided souvenir shows three photographs of the Singer Building from 1907 to 1908; the reverse side is a longitudinal cross sectional drawing of the tower with engineering and architectural data.
Singer Company photographs and advertising cards, circa 1857-1951
Creator: Singer Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2003.249
Extent:   0.5 linear feet
Abstract:   The Singer Company was once the world's leading producer of sewing machines that achieved peak domestic and foreign influence by the late nineteenth century . The collection consists of photographs, trade cards and other ephemera related to the Singer Company.
Singer Company records, 1851-1990
Creator: Singer Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2207
Extent:   8 linear feet
Abstract:   The Singer Company, once the world's leading producer of sewing machines, was the successor to I.M. Singer & Co., established in 1851. The records of the Singer Company comprise a group of materials from its Trademark Department. The largest file is devoted to trademark registrations for all the countries in which Singer sold its products, plus U.S. and Canadian registrations for the Wheeler & Wilson Manufacturing Company. The other major category of materials relates to company history, particularly records assembled for or created in connection with the company's centennial.
Sunoco Company bowling league program, 1932
Creator: Sun Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2000.212
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   The Sunoco Oil Company is a leading provider of oil for the United States. The company was founded in the 1800s in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and is currently based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. This collection features an event program cut in the shape of the diamond and arrow Sunoco logo. The program contains a menu for the banquet, a list of special guests, caricatures of some of the bowlers, as well as the results of the company's employee bowling league's 1931-1932 season.
William Van Hook v. Somerville Manufacturing Company court documents, 1844-1847
Creator: Somerville Manufacturing Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1003
Extent:   2 items
Abstract:   The Somerville Manufacturing Company was incorporated in New Jersey in 1837 with the power to engage in any of a number of branches of textile and metal manufacture. The records consist of two legal documents from the suit of William Van Hook against the company, which resulted in its liquidation.
David Sarnoff Research Center records, 1899-2008, bulk 1942-1995
Creator: Sarnoff Corporation.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2464.09
Extent:   990 linear feet
Abstract:   The David Sarnoff Research Center (DSRC) in Princeton, New Jersey was the central research organization for the Radio Corporation of America (RCA) from 1942 to 1987. Following GE’s acquisition of RCA in 1986, the DSRC was donated to SRI International as a contract research laboratory. Renamed the Sarnoff Corporation in 1997, it was integrated into SRI in 2011. The records document the pioneering research of its scientists and trace the history of the organization from its establishment into the 21st century.
Sperry Corporation Aerospace Division photographs, 1955-1965
Creator: Sperry Corporation. Aerospace Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2001.202
Extent:   19 photographic prints
Abstract:   The Sperry Corporation's Aerospace Division traces its origins to Engineering Research Associates (ERA), a St. Paul, Minnesota firm founded by William Norris (1911-2006) and Howard Engstrom (1902-1962). In 1952 ERA merged with Remington Rand, Inc., where it became part of its Eckert-Mauchly Division. In 1960, five years after the Sperry-Remington Rand merger, it was renamed the Military Division, and in 1975 it became Sperry Rand's Aerospace Division. These photographs show details of identified laboratory testing of computer components.
Sperry Corporation, UNIVAC Division photographs and audiovisual materials, 1910-1989, bulk 1946-1985
Creator: Sperry Rand Corporation. Univac Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1985.261
Extent:   105 linear feet
Abstract:   The collection documents predecessor organizations to the Sperry Corporation, including the Remington Typewriter Company, the Rand Kardex Company, and the Sperry Gyroscope Company; the formation of the Eckert-Mauchly Computer Corporation; the development of the UNIVAC brand under Remington Rand, Inc.; Philadelphia and St. Paul branches of the UNIVAC division; the UNIVAC manufacturing plant in Bristol, Tennessee; and Sperry divisions outside of UNIVAC, including Sperry Gyroscope Flight and Defense Systems, and Remington Rand office equipment.
Sperry Gyroscope Company Division records, 1910-1970
Creator: Sperry Corporation. Sperry Gyroscope Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1915
Extent:   76 linear feet
Abstract:   The Sperry Gyroscope Company was originally organized by electrical inventor Elmer Ambrose Sperry for the purpose of manufacturing and marketing his ship gyrostabilizer, gyrocompass, and high-intensity searchlight. The records describe the development and marketing of the marine and airplane stabilizer, the high-intensity searchlight, fire control systems, the gyrocompass, airplane automatic pilot, bombsights, and the aerial torpedo. They trace the evolving relationship between Sperry and the military and the impact of World Wars I and II.
Sperry Gyroscope historical card file, 1945-1961
Creator: Sperry Corporation. Sperry Gyroscope Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2366
Extent:   2 linear feet
Abstract:   The Sperry Gyroscope Company was originally organized by electrical inventor Elmer Ambrose Sperry for the purpose of manufacturing and marketing his ship gyrostabilizer, gyrocompass, and high-intensity searchlight. Their card file documents over 60 years of the company's history.
Sperry Rand Corporation, Engineering Research Associates (ERA) Division records, 1949-1965
Creator: Sperry Rand Corporation. Engineering Research Associates Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2015
Extent:   18 linear feet
Abstract:   Engineering Research Associates (ERA) origins can be traced to the classified World War II-era Navy project to break the German secret codes by using electronic data processing. After the war, ERA became a private sector company that did pioneering work in computer development. In 1952, it was purchased by Remington Rand. The records include the correspondence of ERA's founding engineers including William Norris and Arnold Cohen. Also included is business and technical correspondence, legal records, patents, and oral histories.
Sperry Rand Corporation. Remington Rand Division records, Subgroup III. Advertising and Sales Promotion Department, 1830-1975, bulk 1920-1955
Creator: Sperry Rand Corporation. Remington Rand Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1825.III
Extent:   30 linear feet
Abstract:   Remington Rand Inc. was incorporated in 1927 as a merger of the Remington Typewriter Company and the Rand Kardex Bureau, Inc. It merged with the Sperry Corporation to form the Sperry Rand Corporation in 1955. The collection contains a large quantity of advertising literature, trade catalogs, and public relations material which the company used to promote its major products, including typewriters, typewriter supplies, record control and storage systems, fire-proof safes, duplicator supplies, punch-card tabulating machines, adding and bookkeping machines.
Sperry Rand Corporation, Univac Division records, 1935-1985
Creator: Sperry Rand Corporation. Univac Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1825.I
Extent:   616 linear feet
Abstract:   The collection documents most of Sperry-Univac's major company functions and includes a large body of materials generated by the Sperry-Honeywell lawsuit that revolved around the question about who invented the first electronic-digital computer.
Sperry-UNIVAC records, 1874-1995
Creator: Sperry Rand Corporation. UNIVAC Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1825.II
Extent:   237.25 linear feet
Abstract:   Consists of the administrative, financial, marketing, personnel, and legal records of Sperry UNIVAC and its predecessor companies. Also included are manuals, reports, and publications on hardware and software developed by Sperry UNIVAC; task force reports and studies for developing new products; printed materials from the Systems Programming Library Service; and biographical and historical data.
Seagram Museum collection of photographs and audiovisual material, 1732-2003, bulk 1950-1986
Creator: Seagram Company.; Seagram Museum.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2000.202
Extent:   84 linear feet
Abstract:   The Seagram Museum collected and exhibited materials related to the history of distilling wine and spirits from 1984 to 1997. Seagram Museum collection of graphics and audiovisual material contains images, moving images, and sound recordings of the Bronfman family, company personnel, properties, plants, products, advertisements, special events, annual reports, Distillations magazine, Seagram Collection of Paintings Tour, company profiles, company philanthropy, Bronfman family philanthropy, and personnel profiles.
Sunoco March sheet music, 1930
Creator: Sanford, Harold.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1998.254
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   Sunoco Inc. is a petroleum manufacturer with headquarters in Newtown Square, Pennsylvania. This musical score is the theme song of the Sunoco Show. The Sunoco Show began in 1930 and aired weekly on NBC radio networks. The show offered popular "melodic" music to its listeners and included an orchestra that was directed by Harold Sanford (1879-1945). Pictured on the cover is the Sunoco Orchestra along with the Ramblers Quartet and guest soloists. Lyrics and music by Harold Sandford.
David Sarnoff papers, 1871-1983
Creator: Sarnoff, David, 1891-1971
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2464.55
Extent:   124 linear feet
Abstract:   David Sarnoff (1891-1971) was the iconic leader of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA) for most of the company's history. For many years the only Jewish executive in the communications field, Sarnoff was highly influential in the development of radio and television. The focus of the David Sarnoff papers is the original David Sarnoff Collection assembled by Sarnoff to celebrate his career. However, the papers also include the extensive photographic, publicity, and administrative files created by his staff at RCA and a substantial audiovisual component.
Robert W. Sarnoff papers, 1944-1979
Creator: Sarnoff, Robert W.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2464.04
Extent:   15 linear foot
Abstract:   Robert W. Sarnoff (1918-1997), son of RCA founder David Sarnoff, became president of NBC in 1956 and succeeded his father as president of RCA in 1965. This collection consists of films, videos and sound recordings dating from 1953 to 1979 documenting the life and career of Robert W. Sarnoff. The collection has been organized into six series: Events, Meetings, Press and media coverage, Speeches, Travel, and General.
Men of Progress -- American Inventors engraving, 1863
Creator: Sartain, John, 1808-1897; Schussele, Christian
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1980.202
Extent:   1 image
Abstract:   Christian Schussele (1824-1879) was an artist and teacher at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. John Sartain (1808-1897) was a Philadelphia printmaker and engraver, and director of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. The engraving is a group portrait of nineteen nineteenth-century American inventors and industrialists, collected around a table with examples of their inventions, and beneath a portrait of Benjamin Franklin.
William H. Horstmann & Sons, manufactory and sales rooms (engraving), circa 1863
Creator: Sartain, Samuel
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1975.325.2
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   William H. Horstmann & Sons was a manufacturer and retailer of silk products for civilian and military clothing between 1815 and 1940. This item is a steel engraving by Samuel Sartain of the William H. Horstmann & Sons manufactory and sales room building in Philadelphia.
James W. Scarlett papers, 1953-2004, bulk 1970-1990
Creator: Scarlett, James W., (James Warren), 1937-2016
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2662
Extent:   2 linear feet
Abstract:   From 1906 to the 1970s, the Honeywell corporation grew from specializing in thermostats and home heating into military engineering, cameras and computing. James Warren Scarlett (1937-2016) was a team leader and electrical engineer at Honeywell through the crucial 1970s period where they led the world in developing process control technology for industrial plants. His records illustrate the development of Honeywell's Industrial Process Control Division's TDC 2000 and TDC 3000 systems. The collection has particular strengths in materials documenting the design of the user interface, sometimes referred to as the man-machine-interface (MMI). Materials include reports, papers, presentation slides, books, correspondence, and business cards.
Frank E. Schoonover negatives, 1898-1972, bulk 1898-1911
Creator: Schoonover, Frank E., 1877-1972
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2017.239
Extent:   11 linear feet
Abstract:   Based in Wilmington, Delaware, Frank Earle Schoonover (1877-1972) was a prolific commercial illustrator, artist, and avid photographer. Over the course of a six-decade career, he completed more than twenty-five hundred works, primarily illustrations for magazines and books but also landscapes, portraits, murals, book plates, sculpture, and stained-glass windows. This collection consists of negatives taken by Schoonover, largely for use as source material for his artwork. There are also images of his artwork, restoration projects, and him, his family, and friends.
Herman Schroeder collection of DuPont Company audiovisual materials, 1938-1993
Creator: Schroeder, H.E.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2010.204
Extent:   1.5 linear feet
Abstract:   Herman Schroeder joined the DuPont Company's Chemical Department in 1938 and held various positions at the Organic Chemistry Department at Jackson Laboratory and the Elastomer Chemicals Department. This collection consists primarily of materials related to Schroeder's professional activities after his retirement from the DuPont Company in 1980.
Herman Schroeder papers, 1901-1997
Creator: Schroeder, H.E.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2468
Extent:   6 linear feet
Abstract:   H.E. Schroeder was a research chemist who spent most of his career with E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company. His papers consist of documents and memorabilia covering his family and professional life.
Delaware School Auxiliary Association photographs, 1921-1931
Creator: Schwarz, Leonard; The Royal Studio (Wilmington, Del.); The Sanborn Studio (Wilmington, Del.)
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1969.044
Extent:   0.5 linear feet
Abstract:   Pierre S. du Pont incorporated the Delaware School Auxiliary Association in 1919 to finance the construction of new school buildings throughout Delaware. Between 1918 and 1940 he donated $5,000,000 to build some 120 schools. This collection contains photographs, almost all exterior, of 114 public elementary and secondary schools in Delaware.
The Seagram Spotlight photograph collection, 1947-1957
Creator: Seagram (Joseph E.) and Sons, Inc.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1996.310
Extent:   3.25 linear feet
Abstract:   The Bronfman family of Canada acquired the Joseph E. Seagram & Sons Co. of Waterloo, Ontario, in 1927. By the 1950s, Seagram was one of the world's largest alcoholic beverage firms. This collection is composed of photographs used as illustrations in The Seagram Spotlight, a "monthly house organ published by and for the staff of Seagram Distiller's Corporation," according to the 20th anniversary issue (December 1936).
Seagram Museum collection, 1682-1996, bulk 1930-1990
Creator: Seagram Museum (Waterloo, Ont.)
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2173
Extent:   170 linear feet
Abstract:   The Seagram Museum in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada was the city's final operational remnant of the world-renowned distillery founded by Waterloo entrepreneur Joseph E. Seagram in the mid-19th century. The collection consists of the Bronfman family papers, official Seagram Company records, and other materials collected or created to document the history of the Bronfman family, the Seagram Company, Ltd., and its products.
Sears, Roebuck and Company ephemera, 1904
Creator: Sears, Roebuck and Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1992.255
Extent:   7 items
Abstract:   Sears, Roebuck & Company is a department store chain. This collection consists of seven pieces of ephemera from the company.
"People are Inspired by display gardens" lecture and accompanying slides, 1978
Creator: Seibert, Russell J.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1991.241
Extent:   30 items
Abstract:   Russell J. Seibert was the former director of Longwood Gardens. This collection consists of a typewritten script of a speech, a cassette recording of the speech, and accompanying slides.
Cyrus J. Sharer research files on the iron ore and steel industries, 1943-1987
Creator: Sharer, Cyrus J. (Cyrus Jewitt), 1922-
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2183
Extent:   4 linear feet
Abstract:   This collection represents materials collected by Cyrus J. Sharer for his research on the iron and steel industry and particularly the world iron ore trade. The main emphasis is on the iron ore trade of the Great Lakes. The period covered, mid-1960s to mid-1980s, was one of crisis and reorganization in the American steel industry and in the lake ore trade, and this is reflected in the records.
Howard Ensign Simmons, Jr. papers, 1857-1997, bulk 1960-1990
Creator: Simmons, Howard E.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2172
Extent:   2.6 linear feet
Abstract:   Howard E. Simmons (1929 - 1997) joined E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company as a research chemist in 1954 and continued to work in varying research positions until his retirement in 1991. His records document Simmons's role in overseeing the production of "Science and Corporate Stategy" by David A. Hounshell and John K. Smith, a scholarly history of Research and Development at DuPont. Also included are reports on DuPont's diversification program in the late 1960s.
Florence, New Jersey lithograph, 1850-1867
Creator: Sinclair, Thomas
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1989.276
Extent:   1 image
Abstract:   This is a hand-colored lithograph by Thomas Sinclair of Philadelphia showing the wharf area and in the background the town area of Florence, N.J., a 19th century leisure destination on the Delaware River in Burlington County.
Lake Mohonk Mountain House data file, 1915-1930
Creator: Smiley, Daniel, 1855-1930
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2280
Extent:   6.25 linear feet
Abstract:   Lake Mohonk Mountain House, a noted summer resort hotel, is located on Lake Mohonk in the Shawangunk Mountains of Ulster County, northwest of New York City. The data file consists of tear sheets from the trade press, advertisements, trade literature, trade catalogs and other publications collected by Daniel Smiley, former manager of the Lake Mohonk Mountain House, in the course of planning and executing new projects, maintaining the building and grounds, and purchasing new furnishings and equipments.
1939 New York World's Fair poster, 1939
Creator: Smith, Bob
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2004.236
Extent:   1 image
Abstract:   World's Fairs or International Expositions are large-scale exhibitions that highlight technology, agriculture and other innovations of national or cultural significance. The New York World's Fair took place in Flushing Meadows, Queens from April 30, 1939 to October 31, 1940. The theme was "The World of Tomorrow." This item is a poster advertising the 1939 New York World's Fair.
History of Kevlar oral history interviews, 2014-2015
Creator: Smith, John K., (John Kenly), 1951- Hagley Museum and Library. Library. Oral History Project Office. Oates, Michael 302 Stories, Inc.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2014.249
Extent:   457.5 gigabytes
Abstract:   Kevlar is a synthetic fiber developed by chemists Stephanie Kwolek (1923-2014), Paul Morgan (1911-1992), and Herbert Blades in 1965 while working at the DuPont Company. The oral histories presented here document the research and development processes that transformed Kevlar from a novel polymer in the laboratory to a life-changing product in the marketplace.
Theophilus Miles Smith ledger, 1777-1818
Creator: Smith, Theophilus Miles, 1757-1850
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2039
Extent:   1 volume
Abstract:   Theophilus Miles Smith (1757-1850) was a Connecticut shoemaker and leather worker. The ledger is a record of Smith's careers as a shoemaker and leatherworker and other business endeavors selling deer skin, calf skin, pig skin, veal, packaged pork, working the docks, slaughtering hogs, and packaging hay.
Elmer Ambrose Sperry papers, 1876-1931
Creator: Sperry, Elmer Ambrose, 1860-1930
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1893
Extent:   27 linear feet
Abstract:   Elmer Sperry (1860-1930) was one of America’s electric pioneers. He founded the Sperry Gyroscope Company in order to develop, manufacture, and market marine gyrostabilizing devices. The papers document Sperry's research and development work and entrepreneurial activities.
Elmer Sperry photograph collection, 1847-1945
Creator: Sperry, Elmer Ambrose, 1860-1930; Hughes, Thomas Parke
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1985.257
Extent:   14.5 linear feet
Abstract:   Elmer A. Sperry (1860-1930) was an electrical engineer who established the Electric Light, Motor, and Car Brake Company in 1883 and then founded the Sperry Electric Mining Machine Company in 1886. After selling his patents to General Electric, he went to work for the company as a consultant. This collection includes original materials, as well as copy work from other sources and images which show Sperry's inventions; there is some ephemera, family photos, employees, and views of the Sperry Company's Brooklyn drafting rooms.
Sperry Gyroscope Company photographs and films, 1915-1962, bulk 1940-1960
Creator: Sperry Gyroscope Company, Inc.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1986.273
Extent:   100 linear feet
Abstract:   The Sperry Gyroscope Company researched, developed, and manufactured navigation equipment; three of the premiere products were the marine gyrostabilizer, the gyrocompass, and the high-intensity searchlight. The company was founded by Elmer A. Sperry (1860-1930) in 1910. Sperry Gyroscope Company photographs and films consists primarily of images of products and inventions developed between 1912 and 1965, a bulk of materials date from 1940 through 1960. The collection has been organized into five series: Personnel; Plants, Sperry School, and Museum; Products; Public Information Department; and Visitors, exhibits, models, and patents.
Levi C. Stang scrapbook, 1911-1945
Creator: Stang, Levi C., 1890-1962
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2697
Extent:   1 volume
Abstract:   Levi C. Stang was an electrical engineer and general manager of several electric companies throughout the Midwest. His scrapbook chronicles his career and employment as an electrical engineer through selected letters and correspondence, newspaper and other clippings, blueprints, and photographs.
DuPont Company gunpowder advertisement, 1851
Creator: Steel, J. W. E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2006.233
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company is a chemical company more commonly referred to as the DuPont company. The company was established in 1802 by Pierre Samuel du Pont de Nemours and his son Éleuthère Irénée du Pont the company began with the production of gunpowder. This item is an 1851 advertisement for DuPont gunpowders, including Eagle gunpowder, gunpowder for ordnance, and gunpowder for blasting and shipping.
Views of Brandywine area engravings, undated
Creator: Steel, James W., 1799-1879
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1969.003
Extent:   2 items
Abstract:   The Brandywine Valley is a rural region of Southeast Pennsylvania and Northern Delaware celebrated for its historical ties to Revolutionary-era America. This collection contains two b&w engraved prints of depictions of the Brandywine area.
Quaker Hill Waltz sheet music, 1853
Creator: Stiegler, John B.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1970.085
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   J. Marsh Music, Fancy and Variety store was located on 117 Market Street in Wilmington, Delaware during the 1850s. The store sold, repaired and tuned instruments, as well as selling sheet music. This sheet music cover contains a black and white lithograph of the J. Marsh Wilmington, Delaware storefront, with people on the side walk, also showing musical instruments in the windows.
Charles M.A. Stine photographs, circa 1937-1945
Creator: Stine, Charles M.A. (Charles Milton Altland), 1882-1954
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2011.330
Extent:   11 images
Abstract:   Charles Milton Altland Stine (1882-1954) was a chemist and an employee of the DuPont Company for thirty eight years. The majority of the collection features portraits of Stine and one image of Stine receiving an award.
Grace S. Stoermer photographs, articles, and ephemera, circa 1900-1952
Creator: Stoermer, Grace S., 1886-1961
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2590
Extent:   52 items
Abstract:   A small collection of materials dealing with the career of Grace S. Stoermer of southern California, an early example of women holding executive positions in the banking industry. Includes photographs, magazine articles and ephemera.
Seagram Building photographs, 1958
Creator: Stoller, Ezra
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2001.238
Extent:   11 photographic prints
Abstract:   The Seagram Company was one of the world's largest alcoholic beverage firms. Completed in 1958 and designed according to the minimalist principles of International Style, the Seagram Building was built of glass and metal, foregoing the stone and brick ornamental facades of preceding buildings. This collection consists of photographs of the Seagram Building in New York City.
Clarita V. Stubenbord design portfolio, approximately 1960
Creator: Stubenbord, Clarita V., 1909-2010
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2499
Extent:   1 volume
Abstract:   Portfolio of designs by a woman designer who worked mostly for large cosmetics houses.
American Car and Foundry Company World War II era photographs, 1943-1944
Creator: Sanborn Studio
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1993.257
Extent:   16 items
Abstract:   American Car & Foundry Company purchased the Jackson and Sharp Company of Wilmington, Delaware, in 1901. From the end of World War One to 1938, the plant built small pleasure boats. These photographs document different activities at the American Car & Foundry Company shipyard in Wilmington, Delaware, during World War Two. There are several photos taken on the occasion of the presentation of the Army-Navy "E" award (1942).
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next