Results:  1066 Items Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

Hagley Museum and Library


Hagley Finding Aids Results

https://findingaids.hagley.org/xtf/search?browse-all=yes;startDoc=61
Huston family papers, 1718-1971
Creator: Huston, Stewart, 1898-1971
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1441
Extent:   3.75 linear feet
Abstract:   Stewart Huston (1898-1971) began his career as a metallurgist and worked in varying capacities in the family business, Lukens Steel Company, in Coatesville, Pennsylvania, from 1923 until his death. Assembled by Huston, the collection relates to genealogy and family history.
Atlas Powder Company records, 1868-1958, bulk 1912-1958
Creator: Atlas Powder Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1516
Extent:   104 linear feet
Abstract:   Incorporated in 1912, Atlas Powder Company functioned as an independent explosives and chemicals company until 1971, when it was purchased by Imperial Chemical Industries Limited (U.K.) and became its American affiliate under the name ICI Americas, Inc. The collection consists of minutes, reports, and correspondence from Atlas in addition to both predecessor and subsidiary companies.
Reading Company records, 1795-1979
Creator: Reading Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1520
Extent:   1 linear feet
Abstract:   Chartered in 1871, Reading Company was the holding company for the system of railroads, canals and coal mines assembled by the predecessor Philadelphia & Reading Railroad Company between 1833 and 1896. The collection consists of the corporate records of the Reading Company (1871-1976), the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad Company (1833-1896), the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company (1896-1923), and 159 predecessors and subsidiaries.
All American Engineering Company records, 1937-1975
Creator: All American Engineering Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1541
Extent:   10 linear feet
Abstract:   The engineering and research unit of All American Aviation, once the principal feeder airline for the mid-Atlantic region, became the All American Engineering Company in 1953. Their records document the early evolution of All American Aviation, the development of its system of air pick-up service, and its use in postal and military applications.
Girard Bank list of stockholders, 1839
Creator: Girard Bank
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1559
Extent:   1 volume 45 pages
Abstract:   In 1811, Girard's Bank was established in the former First Bank of the United States headquarters in order to maintain adequate banking facilities for Philadelphia. This manuscript lists all of the stockholders of the Girard Bank as of October 22, 1839.
Charles Lee Reese papers, 1831-1947, bulk 1880-1936
Creator: Reese, Charles L. (Charles Lee), 1862-1940
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1590
Extent:   1.5 linear feet
Abstract:   The Charles L. Reese papers are a miscellaneous group of material from his student days, the texts of lectures and articles, biographical materials and genealogical notes.
Eugene du Pont (1873-1954) papers, 1835-1956
Creator: Du Pont, Eugene, 1873-1954
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1599
Extent:   13 linear feet
Abstract:   Consists of the personal papers of Eugene du Pont (1873-1954) and the records of Kinloch Gun Club, a private shooting club which he founded near Georgetown, South Carolina.
Eleuthère Irénée du Pont ledger, 1814-1818
Creator: Du Pont, Eleuthère Irénée, 1771-1834.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1618
Extent:   1 volume
Abstract:   Éleuthère Irénée du Pont de Nemours (1771–1834) was a French American chemist and industrialist who founded the gunpowder manufacturer, E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company. This ledgers documents his accounts current between the years 1814 and 1818.
American Iron and Steel Institute (AI&SI) Records, 1872-1985, bulk 1908-1975
Creator: American Iron and Steel Institute.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1631
Extent:   232 linear feet
Abstract:   The records of the American Iron and Steel Institute and its predecessors provide an overview of the American iron and steel industries from their roots in the mid-eighteenth century to the early 1980s. The bulk of the archive consists of the Institute's library. Most of the Institute's own publications, plus a large collection of steel industry annual reports, are cataloged individually and stored in the general Imprints Department stacks.
Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Company records, 1849-1960
Creator: Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1643
Extent:   10 linear feet
Abstract:   The Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad was one of the largest and most prosperous anthracite mining and transporting companies in Pennsylvania.Their records consist of minutes of the DL&W and its two direct predecessors.
Wright family papers, 1785-1902, bulk 1809-1876
Creator: Wright family
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1665
Extent:   16.67 linear feet
Abstract:   Samuel Gardiner Wright (1781-1845) was a West Jersey Quaker merchant and ironmaster who conducted a wide-ranging mercantile business based in Philadelphia, iron furnaces in the New Jersey Pine Barrens and in southern Delaware and maintained a country house and farm in Monmouth County, N.J. The papers document his varied business interests, especially iron manufacture and sales. There are smaller quantities of papers from his wife, sons and grandson.
Delaware Coach Company records, 1814-1973, bulk 1940-1966
Creator: Delaware Coach Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1685
Extent:   109 linear feet
Abstract:   The Delaware Coach Company was originally incorporated as the Wilmington & Philadelphia Traction Company on June 25, 1910, and operated an electric street railway line from Wilmington, Delaware, to Chester, Pennsylvania, and to Philadelphia. Throughout the early twentieth century, the company purchased stock in and leased numerous electric railway, transportation, and utilities companies in the Wilmington and Chester areas. In 1941, it changed its name to the Delaware Coach Company as trackless trolleys and buses replaced electric streetcars. Included are official documents and correspondence; personnel and financial records; public relations files; land deeds; legislation; labor agreements and contracts; equipment, fare, and route policies; ordinances; minute books, and other miscellaneous material created by Delaware Coach and its predecessor electric streetcar companies.
Bethlehem Steel Corporation records, 1714-1982
Creator: Bethlehem Steel Corporation.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1699.I
Extent:   20 linear feet
Abstract:   The Bethlehem Steel Corporation was the number two steel producer in the United States between 1916 and 1984. For a time it was also the largest shipbuilding firm in the world. The records of the Bethlehem Steel Corporation (parent company) are a series of fragments, lacking the complete runs of corporate and executive documents that normally comprise a business archive, and largely consist of fragmentary corporate records and files from executive officers.
Bethlehem Steel Company records, 1714-1977
Creator: Bethlehem Steel Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1699.II
Extent:   75 linear feet
Abstract:   The Bethlehem Steel Company (operating company of the Bethlehem Steel Corporation) was formed April 17, 1899, for the purpose of enlarging the powers and physical plant of the Bethlehem Iron Company. After Charles M. Schwab reorganized the United States Shipbuilding Company into the Bethlehem Steel Corporation in 1904, the Bethlehem Steel Company remained its steelmaking subsidiary until 1964, when it was merged into the Bethlehem Steel Corporation. The records of the Bethlehem Steel Company are arranged into eleven separate series by department or division, though much of the records remaining from these Departments and Divisions are fragmentary, and do not make up a complete corporate archive.
Philadelphia Phillies records, 1902-1981
Creator: Philadelphia Phillies (Baseball team).
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1752
Extent:   9 linear feet
Abstract:   The Philadelphia Phillies are an American professional baseball team based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where they compete in the National League. The team was founded in 1883 by Alfred J. Reach, who purchased the Worcester, Mass., professional baseball club and moved it to Philadelphia. The records of the Philadelphia National League Club document the Philadelphia Phillies professional baseball organization, and includes various papers and records from the National League and Major League Baseball in general, primarily dating from the 1950s through the 1970s.
Penn Virginia Corporation records, 1864-1981
Creator: Penn Virginia Corporation
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1764
Extent:   117.3 linear feet
Abstract:   Penn Virginia Corporation was incorporated as the Virginia Coal & Iron Company on January 6, 1882. It was one of many firms established by a group of interrelated entrepreneurs headed by John Leisenring (1819-1884), a Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania, civil and mining engineer. The records of Penn Virginia Corporation cover the development and operations of the Virginia Coal & Iron Company, a large southern Appalachian land company, with some information on its immediate neighbors and local support facilities.
Delaware and Bound Brook Railroad Company records, 1872-1979
Creator: Delaware and Bound Brook Railroad Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1776
Extent:   12.6 linear feet
Abstract:   The Delaware and Bound Brook Railroad Company was incorporated in 1874, for the purpose of forming a second railroad route between the cities of New York and Philadelphia.Their records consist primarily of basic corporate documents such as minutes, account books, annual reports to the I.C.C., and agreements.
Philadelphia Electric Company records, 1836-1953, bulk 1890-1915
Creator: Philadelphia Electric Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1780
Extent:   36 microfilm reels
Abstract:   The Philadelphia Electric Company was incorporated under the laws of Pennsylvania on October 31, 1929, as a merger of The Philadelphia Electric Company (incorporated in Pa. on October 27, 1902), the Philadelphia Suburban-Counties Gas & Electric Company, and three other small utility companies. It is the primary gas and electric company for Philadelphia, its surrounding counties and Cecil and Harford Counties in northeastern Maryland. Their records consist of microfilm copies of the minute books of about 150 of the predecessor companies of the Philadelphia Electric Company.
Pennsylvania Railroad Company records, 1813-1968
Creator: Pennsylvania Railroad Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1807
Extent:   2,000 linear feet and 181 microfilm reels
Abstract:   The Pennsylvania Railroad Company was the largest railroad in the United States in terms of corporate assets and traffic from the last quarter of the nineteenth century until the decline of the northeast's and midwest's dominance of manufacturing. These records provide nearly comprehensive coverage of corporate matters for the entire time span and reasonably complete coverage of the functional departments from 1920 to 1950, with less coverage from 1893 to 1920 and from 1950 to 1968.
Sperry Rand Corporation, Univac Division records, 1935-1985
Creator: Sperry Rand Corporation. Univac Division.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1825.I
Extent:   616 linear feet
Abstract:   The collection documents most of Sperry-Univac's major company functions and includes a large body of materials generated by the Sperry-Honeywell lawsuit that revolved around the question about who invented the first electronic-digital computer.
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next