A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | OTHER
L. & R. Organic Products Co., Inc. records, 1927-1944
Creator: L. & R. Organic Products, Co., Inc.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2369
Extent:   5 linear feet
Abstract:   L. & R. Organic Products Co., Inc., was a small, independent firm of manufacturing chemists, founded by brothers Harry L. Lobsenz and Jack Lobsenz and located in New York City. It secured dyes from European, Japanese, and domestic manufacturers, mixed them in a small plant to customer specifications, and retailed them in the U.S., Latin America, and other foreign countries. The records are fragmentary and consist of invoices and correspondence.
Laflin and Rand Powder Company calendar, 1899
Creator: Laflin and Rand Powder Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1972.351
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   The Laflin and Rand Powder Company, one of the largest gunpowder manufacturers in the nineteenth century, was formed from several predecessor companies, including the Laflin Powder Company and the Smith & Rand Powder Company. This item is the 1899 calendar with an illustration of a sailor from the U.S.S. Oregon.
Laflin and Rand Powder Company display cards, circa 1902
Creator: Laflin and Rand Powder Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2001.241
Extent:   4 images
Abstract:   The Laflin and Rand Powder Company, one of the largest gunpowder manufacturers in the nineteenth century, was formed from several predecessor companies. The company was acquired by DuPont in October of 1902, and it was operated as a subsidiary. This is a group of four display card advertisements for Laflin & Rand Powder, probably for point-of-sale or counter display.
Lake Mohonk Mountain House data file, 1915-1930
Creator: Smiley, Daniel, 1855-1930
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2280
Extent:   6.25 linear feet
Abstract:   Lake Mohonk Mountain House, a noted summer resort hotel, is located on Lake Mohonk in the Shawangunk Mountains of Ulster County, northwest of New York City. The data file consists of tear sheets from the trade press, advertisements, trade literature, trade catalogs and other publications collected by Daniel Smiley, former manager of the Lake Mohonk Mountain House, in the course of planning and executing new projects, maintaining the building and grounds, and purchasing new furnishings and equipments.
Lammot du Pont workshop architectural drawings, 1966
Creator: Eleutherian Mills-Hagley Foundation
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2011.322
Extent:   7 images
Abstract:   Lammot du Pont (1831-1884) was a chemist working for the family business, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company, a chemical company which originally produced gunpowder. Du Pont developed B blasting powder, using Chilean sodium nitrate instead of the previously used potassium nitrate (saltpeter) from India. This collection is a set of seven architectural drawings made in August 1966 in preparation for the dismantlement and moving of the Lammot du Pont workshop from private property to the Hagley Museum.
Landing permit issued by John Graff to Samuel Merian for the brig Dispatch, 1785 March 10
Creator: Graff, John, 1760-
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1247
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   This is a landing permit issued by John Graff (b. 1760), deputy collector of customs for the port of Philadelphia, to Samuel Merian.
Lanman & Kemp records, 1840-1925, bulk 1852-1879
Creator: Lanman & Kemp.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2328
Extent:   40 linear feet
Abstract:   Lanman & Kemp was a multi-generational family firm of wholesale druggists in New York City. Their records document the operations of the wholesale drug business in the years before the development of modern pharmaceuticals.
Larry R. Paul hotel database, 2012
Creator: Paul, Larry R.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   AVD.LRP.2012.001
Extent:  
Abstract:   Local Maryland historian and private collector Larry R. Paul (b. 1935) has had an extensive career as an exhibit designer, cataloger, and antiques dealer. The collection consists of a database, created by Larry R. Paul, of over 20,000 hotels operating in the United States during the 18th century up to the year 2000, although it includes some details on more recent changes to buildings.
Las Maravillas de la quimica film, 1936
Creator: E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2004.254
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company is a chemical company. Originally established as a black powder manufactory in 1802 by Pierre Samuel du Pont de Nemours and his son Eleuthère Irénée du Pont. Throughout the 1900s and 1910s, the company shifted its focus away from gunpowder production and towards chemistry innovations. This item is the Spanish language version of "Wonder World of Chemistry" which shows chemical products produced by the DuPont Company.
Lea family photograph collection, circa 1845-circa 1920
Creator: Lea family
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1969.012
Extent:   1.0 linear foot
Abstract:   Thomas Lea (1759-1833), the son-in-law of miller Joseph Tatnall, passed on the Tatnall-Lea grain mills in Wilmington, Delaware to his son William Lea. In 1864, William Lea brought his sons Henry and Preston into the firm, changing the name to William Lea & Sons Company. This collection includes portraits of members of the Lea and related families. These include such family names as Tatnall, Warner, Preston, Ferris, Downing, Spruance, Lovett, Moore, Bush, Ely, and others.
Lea Pusey portrait through a block of ice, circa 1884-1886
Creator: Unknown.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1994.262
Extent:   1 photographic print
Abstract:   This reproduction (copied from an original cabinet card) is of Lea Pusey (1820-1896) photographed through a large block of clear ice. Pusey created the plate process, a method to make commercial ice and was the founder of Diamond Ice Company.
LeCarpentier, Green and Baker family photographs, circa 1865-1928
Creator: Baker family; Green family; LeCarpentier family
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1985.256
Extent:   0.25 linear foot
Abstract:   This collection contains photographs of the LeCarpentier, Green and Baker families who were farmers and merchants in the Delaware valley area. The majority of the collection consists of formal portraits of family members, a small number of which are identified, as well as views of various locations around Wilmington, Delaware.
Leeds & Northrup records, 1911-1939
Creator: Leeds & Northrup Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1110
Extent:   13 microfilm reels
Abstract:   The Leeds & Northrup Company traces its origins to Morris E. Leeds & Company, established by Morris E. Leeds in 1899 to develop and manufacture precision instruments. Their records consists of minutes from the Development and Executive Committes and the Cooperative Association.
Lehigh Coal Mine Company records, 1792-1829
Creator: Lehigh Coal Mine Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   0131
Extent:   16 items
Abstract:   Lehigh Coal Mine Company was an unincorporated joint-stock company, established in 1792, with the intention of developing a deposit of anthracite coal discovered by Jacob Weiss and others at what is now Summit Hill in Carbon County, Pennsylvania. The collection consists of documents relating to land ownership and governance of Lehigh Coal Mine Company (LC&N).
Lehigh Valley Railroad Company records, 1847-1971
Creator: Lehigh Valley Railroad Company
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   1917
Extent:   10 linear feet
Abstract:   The Lehigh Valley Railroad Company was one of the major anthracite railroads and formed a secondary trunk line between Jersey City, New Jersey and Buffalo, New York. Their records consist of minute books, corporate histories, voluntary reorganization plans, and an illustrated brochure on Claremont Terminal.
Leonard W. Walton collection of Milprint, Inc. photographs, 1942-1987
Creator: Milprint, Inc..
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2008.219
Extent:   0.25 linear feet
Abstract:   Milprint, Inc., founded by brothers Max T. and William Heller in 1899, was named the Milwaukee Printing Company. In 1908, the Hellers succeeded in developing printing techniques for flexible media used in commercial packaging, at first, glassine paper, and later, cellophane, foil and polyethylene. This collection of photographs related to Milprint, Inc was collected by Leonard W. Walton. A majority of the photographs show Milprint employees attending events, banquets, and dinners, including Quarter Century Club celebrations
Leonard W. Walton collection on printing and packaging, 1920-2008, bulk 1940-1970
Creator: Walton, Leonard W., 1911-2005
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2430
Extent:   3.5 linear feet
Abstract:   Leonard W. Walton was a printing industry executive with Milprint, Inc., between 1936 and 1976. His collection of Milprint records primarily consists of printing samples including candy wrappers, cigarette boxes, potato chip and bread bags and bacon boxes.
Linda Gross collection of matchbook covers, circa 1970s
Creator: Gross, Linda, (staff)
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2015.306
Extent:   11 items
Abstract:   A match cover or a matchbook cover is a thin piece of cardboard that is folded around a set of match sticks. Chemist, John Walker (1781-1859) invented the match stick in 1827. Joshua Pusey (1842-1906?), an inventor and attorney patented matchbook covers in 1892. Within a short time hotels, restaurants, airlines, and all kinds of stores began advertising using matchbook covers. This is a small collection of matchbook covers from hotels, museums and restaurants. Most the businesses represented are from Las Vegas, Nevada, there are a few from other places in the United States.
Link to the Future film, circa 1970s
Creator: Aerolos Production. International Business Machines Corporation.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2014.254
Extent:   1 film reel
Abstract:   International Business Machines Corporation (IBM) became a giant in the field of electronic data processing by the mid-1950s after having achieved great success in the punch-card tabulating machine business in the 1930s. This is a sales film for IBM about the history of information technology.
Lippincott Mercer records, 1956-2004
Creator: Lippincott Mercer (A Division of Mercer Management Consulting, Inc.).
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2206
Extent:   1 linear foot
Abstract:   Lippincott & Margulies, Inc., and its successor Lippincott Mercer, is a major international design consultancy specializing in corporate identity, branding, image, and marketing. They pioneered the post-1950 development of branding as comprehensive corporate identity. The records consist of a set of the company's magazine, Design Sense.
Locomotive Coaling Stations, Link-Belt Co. booklet of cyanotype photographs, circa 1894
Creator: Link-Belt Engineering Co.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1982.301
Extent:   11 images
Abstract:   The Link-Belt Company was founded by William Dana Ewart (1851-1908), who had invented the detachable link-belt in 1874. The flexible metal belt provided a superior system of power transmission and was first used widely in farm machinery. This item is a booklet of 11 cyanotype photographs of locomotive coaling stations designed, erected, and equipped by the Link-Belt Engineering Company.
Locomotives and views of Mauch Chunk contact photographs and negatives, circa 1890-1935
Creator: Rau, William Herman, 1855-1920
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1969.092
Extent:   1.75 linear feet
Abstract:   William Herman Rau (1855-1920) was a prominent photographer and native Philadelphian, best known for his work documenting the development of American railroads. This collection consists of glass plate negatives and photographic copy prints which were made directly from the negatives, many of which were taken by Rau. The images are of steam locomotives from various railroads, including the Lehigh Valley Railroad, Reading Railroad, Atlantic City Railroad, Central Railroad of New Jersey, Pennsylvania Railroad, B. & O. Railroad, and the Delaware and Hudson Railroad.
Lois K. Herr papers, 1907-2004, bulk 1963-2003
Creator: Herr, Lois Kathryn, 1941-
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2462
Extent:   8 linear feet
Abstract:   Lois K. Herr was a prominent advocate of equal rights for women in the workplace and a party to an important legal victory securing greater equity for women in AT&T's Bell System in the early 1970s. The collection documents her role as an important campaigner for women's rights in the business world and her interest in her predecessors in the suffragist and feminist movements of the early 20th century.
Longwood Gardens stereographs, 1934
Creator: Longwood Gardens (Kennett Square, Pa.).
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1995.288
Extent:   2 photographic prints
Abstract:   Longwood Gardens is a series of formal display gardens in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, that was developed by Pierre S. du Pont (1870-1954) after he purchased the site from the Peirce family in 1906. In 1921 he constructed an extensive network of conservatories which contained plantings from many locales, including species from Africa and South America. This collection consists of two homemade stereographs showing different interior views of the conservatory.
"The Lou Gordon Program" audio reel and letter, 1974 May
Creator: Gordon, Lou, 1917-1977; Hanson, Lee C.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2013.219
Extent:   4 items
Abstract:   "The Lou Gordon Program" is a 90-minute radio show that interviews and discusses topics of public interest. This collection includes a letter to David C. Bevin from Lee C. Hanson and two audio reels of "The Lou Gordon Program."
Louis E. and Max Levy photograph album, circa 1886-1893
Creator: Levy, Louis Edward, 1846-1919; Levy, Max, 1857-1926
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1976.252
Extent:   1 volume
Abstract:   The brothers Louis Edward Levy (1846-1919) and Max Levy (1857-1926) founded a photoengraving business in Baltimore in 1875. In 1877 they moved to Philadelphia and reorganized the firm as the Levytype Company. Here they introduced their invention (jointly patented on January 4, 1875) of a new photochemical engraving process, which they called "Levy-type". This album contains personal cyanotype photographs of their homes, travels, friends and family.
Louis Forman business papers, 1784-1989, bulk 1940-1970
Creator: Forman, Louis, 1908-2002.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2290
Extent:   2.5 linear feet
Abstract:   Louis Forman (1908-2002) was a liquor broker and operated the Michter’s whiskey distillery in Pennsylvania. The collection, which focuses on the development and marketing of Michter’s whiskey, with a secondary emphasis on Forman’s liquor brokering business, primarily consists of advertising campaign materials and artwork, business plans and forecasts, deeds, contracts, information on brewing and distilling processes, union contracts, testimonial letters, and other correspondence.
Louis Forman photograph collection, circa 1930s-circa 1980s
Creator: Forman, Louis, 1908-2002.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2007.222
Extent:   1 linear foot
Abstract:   Louis Forman (1908-2002) was a liquor broker who managed the creation and distribution of several different whiskey and liquor brands. This collection documents the operations of Mitcher's Distillery in Schaefferstown, Pennsylvania as well as Forman's efforts to import Kotobukiya Kabushiki Kaisha Japanese whiskies and wines to the United States.
Louis T. Klauder and Associates, Northeast Corridor Demonstration Project photographs, 1951-1970, bulk 1957-1963
Creator: Louis T. Klauder and Associates.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   2014.258
Extent:   2 linear feet
Abstract:   Louis T. Klauder and Associates (LTK) is a professional rail transportation engineering consulting firm. LTK were hired to work as consulting engineers for a joint project of the United States Department of Transportation and Pennsylvania Railroad called the Northeast Corridor Demonstration Project. This collection contains aerial photographs of the Northeast Corridor railroad route from New York to Boston taken between 1951 and 1965. These images were used to aid in the project. These aerial photographs make up a bulk of the collection. There are several sets of images that show train station exteriors along several routes on the Northeast Corridor. Thirty-eight photographs show the projects test track at Pueblo Army Depot in Colorado. There are four press photographs for Inflight Motion Pictures Inc. and a few renderings of proposed trains.
Louis T. Klauder and Associates, Office of High Speed Ground Transportation job files, 1962-1975
Creator: Louis T. Klauder and Associates
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2609
Extent:   24 linear feet
Abstract:   Founded in 1921, the Philadelphia firm of Louis T. Klauder and Associates specializes in the design and evaluation of railroad and rail transit systems, including equipment, infrastructure and operations. Their collection consists of selected job files covering Klauder's work for the Federal Office of High Speed Ground Transportation in developing the first U.S. high-speed rail project in the Boston-Washington Northeast Corridor during the late 1960s and early 1970s. The collection also includes smaller job files on tangential rail projects and a series of files Robert B. Watson, former Northeast Corridor project coordinator for the Pennsylvania and Penn Central Railroads, brought with him when he joined Klauder in 1972.
Louise du Pont Crowninshield papers, 1896-1958
Creator: Crowninshield, Louise du Pont, 1877-1958.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   0471
Extent:   19.5 linear feet
Abstract:   Louise du Pont Crowninshield (1877-1958) was an early leader in the field of historic preservation and a collector of antiques and hooked rugs. The collection includes her papers as well as those of her husband Francis Boardman Crowninshield, her mother, and other family members.
Louise du Pont Crowninshield photographs, 1860-1945
Creator: Crowninshield, Louise du Pont, 1877-1958
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1971.mss.471
Extent:   5 linear feet
Abstract:   Louise Evelina du Pont (1877-1958) was an heiress and preservationist, who was the great granddaughter of Eleuthère Irénée du Pont (1771–1834), the founder of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company. She was the last du Pont to live on the Eleutherian Mills estate. This collection consists of photographic and graphic materials primarily of Crowninshield's extended du Pont family and friends. The collection has been organized into four series: Family portraits, Travel photographs, Residences, and Mary Pauline Foster du Pont sketches and collection of travel souveniers.
Louisiana Purchase Exposition viewbook, 1904
Creator: Graff, Bernhard M.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Audiovisual Collections and Digital Initiatives Department
Accession Number:   1997.219
Extent:   1 item
Abstract:   The Louisiana Purchase Exposition or the St. Louis World’s Fair of 1904 as it was popularly called, was put on to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Louisiana Purchase. Exhibitions covered achievements in the fine arts, science, technology, manufacturing, agriculture, government, and education. This souvenir viewbook shows buildings at the fair and is accordion folded and in color.
Lukens Steel Company records, 1798-1993
Creator: Lukens Steel Company; Lukens, Inc.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   0050
Extent:   720 linear feet; 3 microfilm reels; 5,390 photographs
Abstract:   Lukens Steel Company was a medium-sized producer of specialty steel products and one of the top three U.S. producers of steel plate. The Lukens Steel Company records documents all aspects of the business from the early 19th century through the 1970s.
Lunt Silversmiths records, 1929-2007
Creator: Lunt Silversmiths.
Repository:   Hagley Museum and Library: Manuscripts and Archives Department
Accession Number:   2544
Extent:   25 linear feet
Abstract:   Lunt Silversmiths designed and manufactured quality sterling holloware, flatware, silverware, and giftware for 107 years. Filing for bankruptcy in 2009, Lunt ceased manufacturing and sold their brand to Read & Barton the following year. Included are administrative records, designs, patterns, photographs, and three-dimensional objects that include moulds, silhouettes, and unstruck blanks. The numerous drawings and sketches that comprise this collection document the talent of skilled craftsmen who worked for the company throughout the twentieth century.
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next